3 Things You Need to Know about Arson in Wisconsinby Attorney Carlos Gamino on 03/12/14
If you’ve been charged with arson in Wisconsin, it’s important to understand that it’s considered a felony in Milwaukee, Waukesha and the rest of the state. Once an investigation has started, even if there have been no formal charges filed, it’s urgent that you start looking for a Milwaukee criminal defense attorney.
Because there are three big things that most people don’t know about arson in Wisconsin.
Arson is a Felony – and the Punishments Can Be Severe
There are different classes of felonies in the state of Wisconsin, and arson may fall under three of them: Class C, Class I, or Class H. If someone is harmed or killed because of arson, other charges can result (your Wisconsin arson lawyer will be able to explain how these will affect your case).
If you’re convicted, you could face up to 25 years of prison and a fine of $100,000. Only your attorney can provide you with legal advice that pertains to your case, so it’s a good idea to ask about the possible outcomes of your case.
Arson Stays on Your Record
Unless you’re able to have arson expunged from your record, a conviction is likely to leave a mark on your record for the rest of your life. That’s why it’s so important to work with an attorney who understands where you’re coming from and can help you minimize the impact, if any, that an arson charge will have on your future.
You Need an Aggressive Criminal Defense Lawyer for Arson
If you’re being questioned, tell investigators that you want to talk to an attorney before you answer. That’s your right, no matter how much pressure you’re being put under. You absolutely need an aggressive criminal defense lawyer – one like Carlos A. Gamiño – who will fight for your rights and help you navigate the Wisconsin court system. Speaking with an attorney right away can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case, so don’t take any unnecessary risks.